Mini Cheese Ball Appetizer

1 11 2011

Mini cheese balls, what a cleaver idea – and one that I wish I had thought of on my own! I’m OK snagging it from the latest Food Network Magazine though (Nov 2011)!  While the concept might not have been mine, I had full creative freedom with the toppings and you will too! I featured these fun bite-sized nuggets at a recent party and people really enjoyed them.

Mini Cheese Ball Appetizer

Below is one recipe that would yield about 32 cheese balls. I doubled it and ended up with 64 cheese balls.

  • 8 oz softened cream cheese
  • 1 tsp  Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 tsp grated lemon zest – I used a little extra for good measure!
  • 1 cup shredded firm cheese like cheddar, pepper jack or gouda – I used Vermont white cheddar
  • Salt and pepper
  • Toppings such as chopped pistachios, chives, almonds or tarragon
  • Serve with crackers or baguette slices – I used salt and olive oil crackers

Mix softened cream cheese with Worcestershire sauce, lemon zest and firm cheese.  Next season with salt and pepper. I mixed all of this in my Kitchen Aid until well blended.

Next with moistened hands, form into 1-inch balls. At this point, chill the balls covered for 4 hours. Then roll in toppings.  I decided to use sunflower seeds, almonds, chives and crushed sesame sticks.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment